A total of 22 Olympians, three Paralympians, 10 world champions and four world champion teams will vie for top honours at the 2012 Maori Sports Awards later this month (November).

Gold medal winners in London this year, Olympic canoeist Lisa Carrington and Paralympic swimmer Cameron Leslie, as well as bronze medal winner Storm Uru, are among the finalists and recipients in contention for the supreme title – the Albie Pryor Memorial Maori Sports Person of the Year.

The 22nd awards ceremony will be hosted by Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust at Auckland’s TelstraClear Pacific Events Centre on Saturday November 24 from 5.00 pm.

Executive director Dick Garratt says the record number of Maori athletes achieving on the world stage over the past 12 months is testament to the vision of the event’s founder, the late Albie Pryor.

In 1991, Pryor (Ngati Awa) established the black-tie extravaganza to promote and encourage Maori in the pursuit of sporting excellence. He later expanded that brief to identify and support young Maori talent so they could achieve at Olympic, Commonwealth and international competitions.

“Albie would be proud of the window of opportunity that he has created for our Maori youth, sportspeople and organisations – as well as the general public of Aotearoa-New Zealand.”

The 2012 Maori Sports Awards finalists are:

MAUI TIKITIKI-A-TARANGA – Maori Sports Administrator of the Year:
Mavis Mullins MNZM (Rangitane, Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi, Te Arawa) of Dannevirke – shearing
Marinna Millanta-Lowrey (Te Whanau-a-Apanui) of Porirua – waka ama
Tiki Edwards (Whakatohea, Ngati Tuwharetoa) of Wellington – rugby

TE TOIHUAREWA – Disabled Maori Sports Person of the Year:
Jayne Parsons (Taranaki) of Waikanae – tandem cycling
Cameron Leslie (Ngapuhi) of Whangarei – swimming
George Thomas (Te Arawa) of Rotorua – waka ama

TE ARATIATIA – Maori Sports Umpire/Referee of the Year:
Amber Church (Te Aitangi a Mahaki) of Poverty Bay – hockey
Dwayne Paul (Ngati Haua) of Matamata – netball
Glen Warrick Jackson (Ngai Tahu) of Tauranga – rugby

NGA IKA A WHIRO – Maori Sports Team of the Year:
Aotearoa Whakaarorangi of Waikato-Tainui – waka ama
Cam Ferguson (Ngati Kahungunu) of Waipawa, John Kirkpatrick (Ngati Porou) of Napier – machine shearing
Joanne Kumeroa (Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi) of Victoria, Australia, Joel Henare (Ngati Porou) of Gisborne – wool handling

TE MARU O TUMATAUENGA – Maori Sports Coach of the Year:
Waimarama Taumaunu (Ngati Porou) of Wellington – netball
Noeline Taurua (Ngapuhi) of Rotorua – netball
Jamie Joseph (Rangitane) of Southland – rugby

TE TAMAHINE-A-PAPATUANUKU – Junior Maori Sportswoman of the Year:
Tyla Nathan-Wong (Ngapuhi) of Blockhouse Bay, Auckland – sevens, touch, tag
(name removed)  (Ngati Hako) of Manurewa, Auckland – waka ama
Paige Hourigan (Ngati Tuwharetoa) of Whanganui – tennis

TE TAMA-A-RANGINUI – Junior Maori Sportsman of the Year:
Jason Emery (Ngati Maniapoto) of Manawatu – rugby
Elliott Paerata-Reid (Ngati Tuwharetoa) of Piha – surfing
Apirana Pewhairangi (Ngati Porou) of Newcastle, Australia – rugby league

HINEAHUONE – Senior Maori Sportswoman of the Year:
Vesna Radonich (Ngati Maniapoto) of Waikato-Tainui– waka ama
Kayla Sharland (Rangitane) of Manawatu – hockey
Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) of Ohope, Bay of Plenty – canoeing

TE TAMA-A-TANENUIARANGI – Senior Maori Sportsman of the Year:
Shane Cameron (Rongomaiwahine) of Auckland – boxing
Liam Messam (Ngai Tuhoe) of Hamilton – rugby
Storm Uru (Ngai Tahu) of Cambridge – rowing

For more information about the Maori Sports Awards, go to the website:www.maorisportsawards.co.nz.


For more information including media interviews or ticket sales, contact Dick and Desrae Garratt, Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust, on phone +64 9 278 6591, fax +64 9 278 6582, mobile +64 274 901 237 or emailinfo@maorisportsawards.co.nz.

Write a comment