A media award aimed at encouraging more positive and expert reporting on Maori sports has opened for nominations.

The Maori Sports Media Award of the Year – Te Reo o Te Para Whakawai – will be presented at the 2012 National Maori Sports Awards to be held at the Telstra Clear Pacific Events Centre in Manukau, Auckland, on Saturday November 24 2012.

The award is a commitment by event organisers Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa to work constructively with the media to encourage more positive reporting on Maori sports and to improve the depth and quality of Maori sports reporting.

Previous winners include Maori Television and Te Reo channels for coverage of the 2011 Rugby World Cup final and Black Inc Media for the 2010 Maori rugby television documentary series, Beneath the Maori Moon.

Te Tohu Taakaro executive director Dick Garratt says any person or group may enter their own or another person’s work. Nominations will be recognised from November 1 2011 to October 31 2012 – or later depending on national and international events – and three finalists are selected, one each from television, radio and print media.

“The winning entry will have demonstrated a skilful use of the medium, in Maori or English, and a broad range of material will be considered eligible including television programmes, feature or short films, radio shows, print media articles and public relations activities.

“The judges will be looking for work which has advanced understanding of Maori sporting pride and problems, gone beyond the sensational or trivial treatment of the issues, examined issues in a broader context, encouraged moves for positive change or recognised positive work in communities.”

A nomination form for the Maori Sports Media Award can be downloaded from the website,, and must be received by the trust by Friday November 16 2012.


For more information, contact Dick Garratt, Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust, phone +64 9 278 6591; fax +64 9 278 6582; mobile +64 274 901 237; email; or go

Write a comment